Sports News and Views


Predicting ICC Award Winners for 2023 | Best Male Player in the World

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the nominees for the year ICC Awards 2023 on January 05, 2024. The categories with nominations, including players’ stats, have been included in this blog. The winners will be selected on fan votes and selections made by the ICC Voting Academy. In this blog, we are predicting ICC award winners for 2023. Here are the details:

ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023

ICC announced the nominees for the “ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023”. Nominees for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy are led by four players for their exceptional performances in the year 2023. Two Indians and Two Australian players are nominated. Here are the details with stats:

Pat Cummins (Australia)

Matches (All-Formats): 24 matches

Total Runs: 422 runs

Wickets: 59 wickets

Virat Kohli (India)

Matches (All-Formats): 35 matches

Total Runs: 2048 runs

Travis Head (Australia)

Matches (All-formats): 31 matches

Total Runs: 1698 runs

Ravindra Jadeja (India)

Matches (All-Formats): 35 matches

Total Runs: 613 runs

Wickets: 66 wickets

Our Prediction

Virat Kohli is the strongest nominee for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy. If he wins this year’s ICC Cricketer of the Year Award, it will be Kohli’s third and the most by any player worldwide. He is the best man in our Predicting ICC Award Winners for 2023.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year

The nominees for ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year are here. With three brilliant batters and a classy all-rounder, the award will be given to the Best player.

Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Matches: 7 matches

Wickets: 41 wickets

Travis Head (Australia)

Matches: 12 matches

Total Runs: 919 runs

Joe Root (England)

Matches: 8 matches

Total Runs: 787 runs

Wickets: 8 wickets

Usman Khawaja (Australia)

Matches: 13 matches

Total Runs: 1210 runs

Our Prediction

Usman Khawaja is our favorite for the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year Award. He had a great year delivering stellar performances. This is Khwaja’s consecutive 2nd nominee for the ICC awards.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

The Indians dominated the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award nominees. We have three Indians and a New Zealand Cricketer in the official nominations by the board. One fearsome bowler and three terrific batters are nominated. Virat Kohli was among the Best Batsmen of the World Cup 2023. Similarly, Shami was the best among the Top Bowlers of World Cup 2023. Here are the details.

Shubman Gill (India)

Matches: 29 matches

Catches: 24 catches

Runs: 1584 runs

Virat Kohli (India)

Matches: 27 matches

Catches: 12 catches

Runs: 1377 runs

Wicket: 01 wicket

Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand)

Matches: 26 matches

Catches: 22 catches

Runs: 1204 runs

Wickets: 09 wickets

Muhammad Shami (India)

Matches: 19 matches

Catches: 3 catches

Wickets: 43 wickets

Runs: 36 runs

Our Prediction

New Zealand’s phenomenal batting all rounder, Daryl Mitchell. The batter was in great form throughout 2023.

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

Credit: Cricket Pakistan

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year nominations include a dangerman from India, Surya Kumar Yadav, known as SKY, a versatile all-rounder from New Zealand, Mark Chapman, Zimbabwe’s batting all-rounder, Sikandar Raza, and a bowling all-rounder from Uganda, Alpesh Ramjani.

Surya Kumar Yadav (India)

Matches: 17 matches

Runs: 733 runs

Strike Rate: 155.95

Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

Matches: 11 matches

Runs: 515 runs

Strike Rate: 150.14

Wickets: 17 wickets

Economy: 6.57

Mark Chapman (New Zealand)

Matches: 19 matches

Runs: 576 runs

Strike Rate: 141.87

Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda)

Matches: 30 matches

Wickets: 55 wickets

Economy: 4.77

Our Prediction

The mighty all-rounder from Zimbabwe is the strongest contender for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year.

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year for 2023 has some great names. All these players are also among the New Stars of World Cup 2023. With a pair of exciting fast bowlers from South Africa and Srilanka with two classy batting all-rounders, the competition for the award will be fierce.

Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)

ODI Runs: 820 runs

ODI Strike Rate: 108.03

ODI Wickets: 18 wickets

ODI Economy: 6.02

T20I Runs: 91 runs

T20I Strike Rate: 133.82

T20I Wickets: 5 wickets

T20I Economy: 9.11

Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)

Test Wickets: 10 wickets

Test Economy: 3.87

ODI Wickets: 31 wickets

ODI Economy: 6.48

T20I Wickets: 6 wickets

T20I Economy: 10.50

Dilshan Madushanka (Srilanka)

ODI Wickets: 31 wickets

ODI Economy: 6.09

T20I Wickets: 06

T20I Economy: 12.37

Yashavi Jaiswal (India)

Test Runs: 288 runs

T20I Runs: 430 runs

T20I Strike Rate: 159.25

Our Prediction

Our favorite player for the ICC Emerging Men’s Player of the Year Award is the rising batting all-rounder Rachin Ravindra. His stats say it all about himself. It was all from predicting ICC Award Winners for 2023 article.

Umair Basraa

Umair Basraa is an experienced Sports Writer with over three years of expertise covering a wide range of sports, including Cricket, Wrestling, UFC/MMA, Boxing, NBA, and Football. His insightful analysis and engaging storytelling bring the excitement and drama of sports to life for his readers. Basraa's work captures the intricacies of each game, offering a deep understanding of the athletes and events that shape the world of sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *